AT A REGULAR SESSION of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of South Dakota, held in its offices, in the City of Pierre, the Capital, this 10th day of May, 1976.

PRESENT: Commissioners Weiland, Ecker and Klinkel

IN THE MATTER OF ESTABLISHING	)	ORDER FOR AND NOTICE
CERTAIN TERRITORIAL ELECTRIC	)	OF HEARING
BOUNDARIES WITHIN THE STATE	)	
OF SOUTH DAKOTA (WATERTOWN	)	(F-3108)
AREA).	)	

On July 1, 1975, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission received authority to regulate gas and electric utilities operating within the State of South Dakota. Included with the new responsibility of this regulation was the language in SDCL 49-34A-44 which states:

"On or before July 1, 1976, the Commission shall, after notice and hearing, establish the assigned service area or areas of each electric utility and shall prepare or cause to be prepared a map or maps to accurately and clearly show the boundaries of the assigned service area of each utility."

Pursuant to this statutory mandate, the Commission determined that boundaries of the electric utilities should be established on available county highway maps of sufficient size to accurately reflect the territorial delienation of each utility operating within that county and that hearings should be held state-wide for the purposes of determining said territorial boundaries.

Therefore, the Commission has determined that for the purpose of establishing territorial boundaries for the following counties and electric utilities serving within counties, a hearing shall be held at Watertown, South Dakota. Such hearing will include the following counties and electric utilities.

## Counties

Beadle Kingsbury Hamlin Deuel Grant Codington Clark Roberts

## Affected Electric Utilities

Traverse Electric Coop.
Whetstone Valley Electric Coop.
Codington-Clark Electric Coop.
Lake Region Electric Assn.
Spink Electric Coop.
Beadle Electric Coop.
Ree Electric Coop.
Kingsbury Electric Coop.
Intercounty Electric Assn.
Tri-County Electric Assn.
Sioux Valley Empire Electric Assn.
Hamlin-Deuel Electric Coop.

Counties

## Affected Electric Utilities

Otter Tail Power Co.
Northwestern Public Service
Watertown Municipal Electric
Bryant Municipal Electric
Estelline Municipal Electric
Badger Municipal Electric
Arlington Municipal Electric
Big Stone City Municipal Electric

It is therefore ORDERED, that on Tuesday, June 8, 1976, at the hour of 1 o'clock p.m., in the City Hall Meeting Room in Watertown, Codington County, South Dakota, be the time and place for the hearing in determining the electric territorial boundaries for the counties and electric utilities listed above herein.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

OE NORTON, Executive Secretary

(OFFICIAL SEAL)