## BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER FOR APPROVAL OF THE JOINT SERVICE EXCEPTION AGREEMENT BETWEEN NORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANY DBA XCEL ENERGY AND SOUTHEASTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.

ORDER GRANTING APPROVAL
OF AN ELECTRIC SERVICE
RIGHTS EXCEPTION

EL24-003

On February 6, 2024, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a joint petition from Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota Corporation dba Xcel Energy (Xcel), and Southeastern Electric Cooperative, Inc. (Southeastern) requesting the Commission approve a service rights exception. The service rights exception will allow Xcel to provide service to one residential site in Southeastern's service territory. The proposed residential site is located in the southeast quadrant of T101N R53W S15 in McCook County, South Dakota.

On February 8, 2024, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of February 23, 2024, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listsery. No petitions to intervene or comments were filed.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL 49-34A, specifically 49-34A-42 through 49-34A-44 and 49-34A-55.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on March 12, 2024, the Commission considered this matter. Commission staff recommended granting approval of the requested service rights exception. Finding that the service rights exception will avoid unnecessary duplication of facilities, provide adequate electric service to the customer affected, promote the efficient and economical use and development of the utilities' electric systems, and that the exception to the parties' assigned service territories is in the public interest, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the requested service rights exception. It is therefore

ORDERED, that the requested electric service rights exception is hereby granted.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this // day of March 2024.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Chairperson

GARY HANSON Commissioner

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner