

Gary Hanson, Chair

Bob Sahr, Vice-Chair

SOUTH DAKOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

> 500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070 www.puc.sd.gov

Capitol Office (605) 773-3201 (605) 773-3809 fax

Transportation/Warehouse (605) 773-5280 (605) 773-3225 fax

> Consumer Hotline 1-800-332-1782

Dustin Johnson, Commissioner

September 28, 2005

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission Office of the Secretary 445 12th Street S.W., Room TW-A306 Washington, DC 20554

Ms. Karen Majcher Vice President of the High Cost and Low Income Division Universal Service Administrative Company 2000 L Street N.W., Suite 200 Washington, D.C. 20036 Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission Office of the Secretary 9300 East Hampton Drive Capitol Heights, MD 20743

Re: CC Docket No. 96-45

Annual State Certification of Support for Rural Carriers and Non-Rural Carriers

Dear Ms. Dortch and Ms. Majcher:

The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) hereby states that the following rural and non-rural incumbent local exchange carriers and/or eligible telecommunications carriers within its jurisdiction have been certified to receive support pursuant to 47 CFR §§ 54.301, 54.305, 54.307, and/or 54.309 and/or part 36, subpart F. The carriers listed below filed requests for certification with the Commission which support their affirmations that all federal high-cost support provided to them will be used only for the provision, maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended, consistent with section 254(e) of the Communications Act.

The Commission has granted certification to the following rural incumbent local exchange carriers and/or eligible telecommunications carriers:

Alliance Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391642) Armour Independent Telephone Company (391640) Beresford Municipal Telephone Company (391649) Bridgewater-Canistota Independent Telephone Company (391640) (co. no. 0158) Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (391647) Citizens Telecommunications Company of Minnesota, LLC (361123) City of Brookings Municipal Telephone Department (391650) City of Faith Municipal Telephone Company (391653) Consolidated Telcom (381607) Dickey Rural Communications, Inc. (381611) (co. no. 1681) Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (381611) (co. no. 1611) Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (361389) Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (391659) Great Plains Communications, Inc. (371577) Heartland Telecommunications Company of Iowa d/b/a Hickory Tech Corporation (351096) Hills Telephone Company, Inc. (391405) Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (391654)

James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company (391664) Jefferson Telephone Company (391666) Kadoka Telephone Company (391667) Kennebec Telephone Company (391668) McCook Cooperative Telephone Company (391669) Midstate Communications, Inc. (391670) Mount Rushmore Telephone Company and Fort Randall Telephone Company (391660) Northeast Nebraska Telephone Company (371576) PrairieWave Community Telephone, Inc. (391652) Red River Telecom, Inc. (381631) Roberts County Telephone Cooperative Association and RC Communications, Inc. (391674) RT Communications, Inc. (512251) Santel Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391676) Sioux Valley Telephone Company (391677) Splitrock Properties, Inc. (391657) Stockholm-Strandburg Telephone Company (391679) Three River Telco (371525) Tri-County Telcom, Inc. (391682) Union Telephone Company (391684) Valley Telecommunications Cooperative Association, Inc. (391685) Valley Telephone Company (361495) Venture Communications Cooperative (391680) Vivian Telephone Company (391686) Western Telephone Company (391688) West River Cooperative Telephone Company (391689) West River Telecommunications Cooperative (381637) (co. no. 4414) West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Mobridge) (391671)

The Commission has granted certification to the following non-rural incumbent local exchange carriers and/or eligible telecommunications carriers:

Black Hills FiberCom, L.L.C. d/b/a PrairieWave Communications, Inc. (competitive ETC) (399006) Midcontinent Communications (competitive ETC) (399005) Qwest Corporation (395145) RCC Minnesota, Inc. (399003) Wireless Alliance, L.L.C. (399004) WWC License LLC (399002)

Enclosed are the Orders Granting Certification to the above-referenced rural and non-rural incumbent local exchange carriers and/or eligible telecommunications carriers. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us for further information.

Sincerely,

Gary Hanson Chairman

Robert K. Sahr Commissioner

Dustin M. Johnson Commissioner