

SOUTH DAKOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070 www.puc.sd.gov Capitol Office (605) 773-3201 (605) 773-3809 fax

Transportation/Warehouse (605) 773-5280 (605) 773-3225 fax

Consumer Hotline 1-800-332-1782

September 26, 2006

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch Office of the Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street S.W., Room TW-A306 Washington, DC 20554

Ms. Karen Majcher Vice President High Cost and Low Income Division Universal Service Administrative Company 2000 L Street N.W., Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036

Re: Certification of Support for Rural and Non-Rural High-Cost

Carriers Pursuant to 47 C.F.R. Sections 54.313-314,

CC Docket Nos. 96-45 and 00-256

Dear Ms. Dortch and Ms. Majcher:

The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (SDPUC) hereby certifies that all federal high cost support provided to rural and non-rural carriers in this state will be used only for the provision, maintenance and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended, consistent with section 254(e) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended. This includes High Cost Loop (HCL) support, Local Switching Support (LSS), High Cost Model (HCM) support, and high cost support received pursuant to the purchase of exchanges.

Attached are lists of rural and non-rural carriers certified by the SDPUC pursuant to sections 54.313 and 54.314 of the FCC's rules (47 C.F.R. §§ 54.313, 54.314), which require states to establish an annual certification process for rural and non-rural carriers receiving federal high cost support. As requested by the Universal Service Administrative Company, listed beside each carrier is its assigned study area code (SAC), if known.

Sincerely.

Robert K. Sahr Chairman Dustin M. Johnson Commissioner

Gary Hanson Commissioner The Commission has granted certification to the following rural incumbent local exchange carriers and/or eligible telecommunications carriers:

Alliance Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391642)

Armour Independent Telephone Company (391640)

Beresford Municipal Telephone Company (391649)

Bridgewater-Canistota Independent Telephone Company (391640) (co. no. 0158)

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (391647)

Citizens Telecommunications Company of Minnesota, LLC (361123)

City of Brookings Municipal Telephone Department (391650)

City of Faith Municipal Telephone Company (391653)

Consolidated Telcom (381607)

Dickey Rural Communications, Inc. (381611) (co. no. 1681)

Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (381611) (co. no. 1611)

Fort Randall Telephone Company (391660)

Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (361389)

Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (391659)

Great Plains Communications, Inc. (371577)

Heartland Telecommunications Company of Iowa d/b/a Hickory Tech Corporation (351096)

Hills Telephone Company, Inc. (391405)

Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (391654)

James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company (391664)

Jefferson Telephone Company (391666)

Kadoka Telephone Company (391667)

Kennebec Telephone Company (391668)

McCook Cooperative Telephone Company (391669)

Midstate Communications, Inc. (391670)

Northeast Nebraska Telephone Company (371576)

PrairieWave Community Telephone, Inc. (391652)

Red River Telecom, Inc. (381631)

Roberts County Telephone Cooperative Association and RC Communications, Inc. (391674)

RT Communications, Inc. (512251)

Santel Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391676)

Sioux Valley Telephone Company (391677)

Splitrock Properties, Inc. (391657)

Stockholm-Strandburg Telephone Company (391679)

Three River Telco (371525)

Tri-County Telcom, Inc. (391682)

Union Telephone Company (391684)

Valley Telecommunications Cooperative Association, Inc. (391685)

Valley Telephone Company (361495)

Venture Communications Cooperative (391680)

Vivian Telephone Company (391686)

Western Telephone Company (391688)

West River Cooperative Telephone Company (391689)

West River Telecommunications Cooperative (McLaughlin) (381637) (co. no. 4414)

West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Mobridge) (391671)

The Commission has granted certification to the following non-rural incumbent local exchange carriers and/or eligible telecommunications carriers:

Brookings Municipal Telephone d/b/a Swiftel Communications (competitive ETC) (399009)
Midcontinent Communications (competitive ETC) (399005)
Midstate Telecom, Inc. (competitive ETC) (399011)
PrairieWave Black Hills, L.L.C. (competitive ETC) (399006)
Qwest Corporation (incumbent LEC) (395145)
RCC Minnesota, Inc. (competitive ETC) (399003)
Wireless Alliance, L.L.C. (competitive ETC) (399004)
WWC License LLC (competitive ETC) (399002)