BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION BY UNITI NATIONAL LLC FOR CERTIFICATES OF AUTHORITY TO PROVIDE LOCAL EXCHANGE AND INTEREXCHANGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES IN THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA ORDER GRANTING INTERVENTION

TC21-002

On January 27, 2021, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received an Application for a Certificate of Authority to provide local exchange and interexchange telecommunications services in the state from Uniti National LLC (Uniti). Specifically, Uniti seeks to provide facilities-based and resold local exchange telecommunications services that do not require an interconnection agreement in the state. Uniti does not seek to provide switched access services or other retail voice services.

On January 28, 2021, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of February 12, 2021, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filing electronic listserv. On February 8, 2021, the South Dakota Telecommunication Association (SDTA) filed a petition to intervene.

The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26 and 49-31 and ARSD 20:10:01:15.05.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on February 19, 2021, the Commission considered this matter. Uniti did not appear at the meeting. Commission staff stated they did not object to the intervention. The Commission found that the Petition to Intervene demonstrated good cause to grant intervention and voted unanimously to grant intervention to SDTA. It is therefore

ORDERED, that intervention is hereby granted to SDTA.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 22nd day of February 2021.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has
been served today upon all parties of record in this docket,
as listed on the docket service list, electronically or by mail. By: <u>HOUM CEHNELK</u>
Date: 2/22/21
(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

CHRIS NELSON, Chairman

KRISTIE FIÈGEN, Commissioner

GARY HANSON, Commissioner