BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY NORTHWESTERN CORPORATION D/B/A NORTHWESTERN ENERGY FOR APPROVAL OF A CONTRACT WITH DEVIATIONS

ORDER APPROVING CONTRACT WITH DEVIATIONS

EL10-004

On April 20, 2010 the Commission received an application by NorthWestern Corporation d/b/a NorthWestern Energy (NorthWestern) for approval of a Contract with Deviation to construct an electric line to serve the Burlington Northern Railroad. This project is to provide electrical service to a new switch heater located at NAPA Junction, Yankton County, South Dakota. There is a very minimal load associated with this heater. NorthWestern will install, or arrange for the installation of, approximately 890 feet of overhead line. NorthWestern filed the following tariff sheet for Commission approval:

Section 4 6th Revised Sheet No. 1

Canceling 5th Revised Sheet No. 1

At its regularly scheduled meeting of May 18, 2010, the Commission considered this matter. Commission Staff recommended approval.

The Commission finds that is has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL 49-34A, specifically 49-34A-6, 49-34A-8, 49-38A-8.3, 49-34A-10, and 49-34A-11. Further, the Commission finds that NorthWestern's request for approval of a Contract with Deviations and associated tariff sheet is just and reasonable and shall be approved for service rendered on or after June 1, 2010. As the Commission's final decision in this matter, it is therefore

ORDERED, that the request seeking approval of a Contract with Deviations is in the public interest and is hereby granted; and it if further

ORDERED, that the above-mentioned tariff is approved and is effective for services rendered on and after June 1, 2010.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this ______ day of May, 2010.

The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docfet, as listed on the dockerservice list, electronically

Date: 15 21 10 (OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

DUSTIN M. JOHNSON, Chairman

STEVE KOLBECK, Commissioner

GARY HANSON, Commissioner