BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

)

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING OF THE INVESTIGATION OF THE NATURAL GAS INCIDENT OF MARCH 8, 2007, ON NORTHWESTERN ENERGY'S SYSTEM IN MITCHELL, SOUTH DAKOTA ORDER GRANTING INTERVENTION

PS07-002

On July 13, 2007, Commission Staff requested that a formal docket be opened into the ongoing investigation of the March 8, 2007, natural gas explosion at 1612 Bridle Drive, Mitchell, South Dakota. By opening this docket, the Commission can set forth a formal process for review of the investigation report.

On July 19, 2007, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of August 27, 2007, to interested individuals and entities. On July 23, 2007, the Commission received a Petition to Intervene from Arden Lemke d/b/a Lemke Digging & Geothermo Drilling (Lemke). On July 24, 2007, the Commission received a Petition to Intervene from Dennis Burnham (Burnham). On July 25, 2007, the Commission received Petitions to Intervene from Robert and Jeanne Lorenz (Lorenz), Ann and Arend Kuyper (Kuyper) and Darla and Carl Johnson (Johnson). On July 27, 2007, the Commission received a Petition to Intervene from Bailey's Plumbing (Bailey's).

The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26 and 49-34B and ARSD 20:10:01:15.05.

At its regularly scheduled meeting of August 7, 2007, the Commission considered the Petitions to Intervene. The Commission found that the Petitions to Intervene demonstrated good cause to grant intervention. It is therefore

ORDERED, that the Petitions to Intervene of Lemke, Burnham, Lorenz, Kuyper, Johnson and Bailey's are hereby granted.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this $\frac{18}{18}$ day of September, 2007.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically.
By: Delaine Kolbo
Date:
(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

DUSTIN M. JOHNSON, Chairman

GARY MANSON, Commissioner

STEVE KOLBECK, Commissioner