Consumer Assistance | Energy | Telecom | Warehouse | Commission Actions | Miscellaneous

arrow Energy Task Force | previous page


Governor Rounds' Energy Task Force

First Meeting                                       Governor's Large Conf. Room 2nd Floor
August 23, 2004                                  State Capitol Building
11-4 p.m.                                            Pierre, South Dakota


The first meeting of the Governor's Energy Task Force was called to order by Department of Tourism and State Development Secretary Jim Hagen, Chair, at 11:10 a.m. on Monday, August 23, 2004 in the Governor's Large Conference Room on the 2nd floor of the State Capitol Building in Pierre, South Dakota.

The following members were present: Department of Tourism and State Development Secretary Jim Hagen (Chair), Public Utilities Chairman Bob Sahr, Public Utilities Vice Chairman Gary Hanson, Public Utilities Commissioner Jim Burg, Senator Paul Symens, Senator Tom Dempster, Representative Joel Dykstra, Senior Advisor to the Governor Dusty Johnson, Vic Simmons, Rod Bordeaux, Ray Wahle, Jeff Nelson, David Emery, Jim Wilcox, and Rick Rylance. Dick Sweetman (Vice-Chair) and Kathryn Johnson were unable to attend.

Speakers present included Randy Udall (Community Office for Research Efficiency), Steve Wegman (PUC Analyst) and Keith Senger (PUC Analyst).

Staff members present included Christine Hibbeler (PUC) and Cody Byrum (Governor's office).

Members of the public present included Tom Marvin (SD Municipal League), Ed Scott (Siemens Westinghouse Power Corporation) and C. Don Lamoureaux (Rosebud Sioux Tribe Utility Commissioner).

Chairman Hagen welcomed the members and thanked them for their time and commitment.  Each member then introduced themselves.

PUC Analyst Steve Wegman gave his presentation on South Dakota's Current Energy Environment.  See attached file for his Power Point presentation.

PUC Analyst Keith Senger gave his presentation on the Realities of Wind Power.  See attached file for his Power Point presentation.

Task members broke for lunch with the meeting to resume at 12:45 p.m.

Ray Wahle with Missouri River Energy Systems gave his presentation on Transmission.  See attached file for his Power Point presentation.

Randy Udall with the Community Office for Resource Efficiency (CORE) gave his presentation on The Future of Energy.  See attached file for his Power Point presentation.

Additional files attached are for informational purposes and were not presented at the meeting due to time constraints.

Chairman Hagen added closing remarks.  He requested that the members consider what their goals for the task force were and to e-mail those to staff member Christine Hibbeler.  This would enable Chairman Hagen and staff to develop the agendas for the future meetings.  Tentative date for the next meeting is September 20, 2004, 11-4 p.m.

Meeting ended at 4 p.m.