
ELECTRIC RATE INCREASE 
Effective July 1, 2015

On June 23, 2014, Northern States Power Company, an Xcel Energy 
company operating in South Dakota, asked the South Dakota Public 
Utilities Commission for permission to increase its incremental overall 
electricity rates by $15.6 million or approximately 8.0 percent. The 
primary reason a rate increase is necessary is to maintain safe and 
reliable service. Xcel Energy has made significant investments in its 
generation, transmission and distribution systems to reliably meet  
the electricity needs of its South Dakota customers. The Company has 
been authorized by the SDPUC to increase overall electric rates by  
approximately 3.6 percent or $6.9 million, effective July 1, 2015.

Also, the Company has been authorized to update the Infrastructure 
Rider tariff to recover an additional $0.9 million or about 0.4 percent, 
for the cost of certain capital projects, including true-ups and credits 
from prior rider collections. 

Combined, the authorized increase in base rates and infrastructure rider 
is $7.8 million or approximately 4.0 percent. A moratorium on base rate 
increases is in effect until January 1, 2018.

As allowable by South Dakota law, future incremental property taxes 
not otherwise included in base rates, will be recovered through the  
fuel clause rider.

The actual impact of the requested base rate increase on an individual 
customer’s bills will vary depending on the customer’s rate class and 
amount of energy use. As a result of the change in base rates and 
infrastructure rider, a typical residential customer using an average  
of 750 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of energy each month will see an increase 
of approximately $3.19 per month (from $86.84 to $90.02) based on 
average rates.

State law allowed Xcel Energy to collect an interim (temporary) rate 
increase while the Commission considered the rate request. The  
incremental interim increase of $15.6 million annually began on 
January 1, 2015. Since the final rate increase is less than the interim 
rate increase, Xcel Energy will refund the difference, with interest, on 
August or September bills. The average residential customer’s interim 
refund will be approximately $26.91.
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Peak-Controlled Time of Day Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $50.00 $54.20 

Firm On-Peak Demand charge per kW—Summer $11.75 $13.02 

Firm On-Peak Demand charge per kW—Winter $8.05 $9.02

Controllable Demand charge per kW $5.82 $6.78

Off-Peak Demand charge per kW—Excess $2.00 $2.00

Energy charge per kWh—On-Peak 3.744¢ 4.592¢

Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.297¢ 2.417¢

Energy charge credit per kWh over 360 hours 0.766¢ 0.953¢

Energy-Controlled Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $50.00 $54.20 

Firm On-Peak Demand charge per kW—Summer $11.75 $13.02 

Firm On-Peak Demand charge per kW—Winter $8.05 $9.02

Controllable Demand charge per kW $5.41 $6.28

Off-Peak Demand charge per kW—Excess $2.00 $2.00

Firm Energy charge per kWh—On-Peak 3.744¢ 4.592¢

Firm Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.297¢ 2.417¢

Controllable Energy charge per kWh—On-Peak 3.401¢ 4.252¢

Controllable Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.177¢ 2.309¢

Control Period Energy charge per kWh 9.200¢ 9.200¢

Energy charge credit per kWh over 360 hours 0.766¢ 0.953¢

For More Information

You may examine new rate schedules by visiting our website at  
xcelenergy.com/Rates (be sure to select South Dakota in the  
location box in the top right corner). Choose South Dakota Rates,  
Rights and Service Rules to find the Electric Rate Book. If you have 
further questions, please contact Xcel Energy at 1-800-895-4999.
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A sample of some of the new rates which became effective with 
service rendered on and after July 1, 2015 is shown below. The first bill 
you receive may be prorated, depending on your meter reading date. 
This means that any service provided prior to July 1, 2015, will be billed 
at the old rates, and any service provided on and after July 1, 2015 will 
be billed at the new rates.

Residential Service – Average Month Bill Example

Usage 
(kWh)

Prior  
Rates

New Rates* Amount of 
Increase

Percent 
Increase

400 $50.16 $52.18 $2.02 4.02% 

500 $60.64 $63.16 $2.52 4.16% 

600 $71.12 $74.14 $3.02 4.25% 

750 $86.84 $90.62 $3.78 4.35% 

1000 $113.03 $118.07 $5.04 4.46% 

2000 $216.14 $226.11 $9.97 4.61% 

*Includes Base Rate and Infrastructure Rider.

Fuel charge per kWh—varies monthly 2.844¢ 2.844¢ 

Residential Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month—overhead service $8.25 $8.25 

Customer charge per month—underground service $10.25 $10.25 

Energy charge per kWh—Summer 8.161¢ 9.071¢

Energy charge per kWh—Winter 0-1000 kWh 6.641¢ 7.503¢

Energy charge per kWh—Winter excess kWh 6.389¢ 7.235¢

Energy charge per kWh—Winter Sp. Htg. excess kWh 4.166¢ 4.803¢

Residential Time of Day Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month—overhead service $10.25 $10.25 

Customer charge per month—underground service $12.25 $12.25 

Energy charge per kWh—Summer On-Peak 17.235¢ 18.939¢

Energy charge per kWh—Winter On-Peak 13.155¢ 14.704¢

Energy charge per kWh—Winter Sp. Htg. On-Peak 10.762¢ 12.444¢

Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.540¢ 3.010¢

Residential Heat Pump Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $3.05 $3.05 

Energy charge per kWh—Summer 6.522¢ 7.281¢ 

Energy charge per kWh—Winter 4.060¢ 4.678¢

Energy Controlled Non-Demand Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $3.05 $3.05 

Energy charge per kWh—Standard 3.486¢ 4.018¢ 

Limited Off-Peak Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $3.05 $3.05 

Customer charge per month—3 phase $5.15 $5.15 

Customer charge per month—primary voltage $25.00 $25.00

Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.340¢ 2.770¢

Small General Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $9.00 $9.00 

Energy charge per kWh—Summer 7.586¢ 8.429¢ 

Energy charge per kWh—Winter 6.066¢ 6.861¢

Small General TOD Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $11.00 $11.00 

Energy charge per kWh—Summer On-Peak 13.345¢ 14.689¢ 

Energy charge per kWh—Winter On-Peak 10.090¢ 11.310¢

Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.540¢ 3.010¢

General Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $21.00 $22.20 

Demand charge per kW—Summer $11.75 $13.02 

Demand charge per kW—Winter $8.05 $9.02

Energy charge per kWh 2.910¢ 3.411¢

Energy charge credit per kWh over 360 hours 0.766¢ 0.953¢

General Time of Day Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $24.00 $25.20 

On-Peak Demand charge per kW—Summer $11.75 $13.02 

On-Peak Demand charge per kW—Winter $8.05 $9.02

Off-Peak Demand charge per kW—Excess $2.00 $2.00

Energy charge per kWh—On-Peak 3.744¢ 4.592¢

Energy charge per kWh—Off-Peak 2.297¢ 2.417¢

Energy charge credit per kWh over 360 hours 0.766¢ 0.953¢

Peak-Controlled Service	 Prior Rates	 New Rates

Customer charge per month $50.00 $54.20 

Firm Demand charge per kW—Summer $11.75 $13.02 

Firm Demand charge per kW—Winter $8.05 $9.02

Controllable Demand charge per kW $5.82 $6.78

Energy charge per kWh 2.910¢ 3.411¢
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